Project 6: Stationery

 

Letterhead (8.5 x 11):P6 - Letterhead Final Draft

Business Card (8.5 x 11):P6 - Business Card Final Draft

Large Business Card(8.5 x 7):P6 - Business Card Large

Description:
This is the logo, business card and letterhead for Prismatic Lighting, a fictional company. Prismatic Lighting provides professional lighting solutions for events of any size.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS):
My time was extremely limited for this projected, so much of my design process took place on sticky notes, napkins or whatever else was handy during the day. I iterated through a variety of geometric shapes while using as many of the primary and secondary colors as I could to support the concept of “light” being their product.

Once I settled on my best sketches, I digitized them in Adobe InDesign to gather feedback. Admittedly, it was one of my rougher drafts, but I had a fairly clear idea of what needed fixing and what I most wanted feedback on. For example, I was using all of the primary and secondary colors, at the time, and I felt it was just too distracting to design around.

The feedback I received highlighted the same trouble spots I  identified on my own, so polishing up a final draft was fairly straightforward. I removed all of the secondary colors from the logo and change the lines from black/white to match the color they connected with on the logo. On a black background, the blue was subtle and considerably less “competitive” with the company name, “Prismatic Lighting”, and the red/yellow lines easily drew attention to the logo before tracing the blue line across.

On a white background, the exact opposite was true, and the same colors continued to support their respective elements. A blue horizontal dividing line meshed well with the letterhead, and the red/yellow lines became subtle color highlights. By changing the back of the business card to a white background, there was now a visual connection between the business card and letterhead beyond just the logo and copy. The elements were also mirrored almost exactly which provided some subtle synergy with light manipulation. The letterhead and business card back look like they are reflected when held up next to each other.

Message:
There is no specific message, but the underlying implications should suggest an association with light. With this in mind, using geometric lines and shapes that resemble mirrors or a “prism” supports the company’s product: light, itself.

Audience:
Anyone looking to obtain professional lighting for an event.

Top Thing Learned:
InDesign continues to be a program that I’m eager to learn, but I do find the subtle differences in key-commands and functionality rather hindersome. I know I could have completed the digital portion of this project in less time had I used Photoshop, but the goal is obviously to reach a point where that’s no longer true. For me, figuring out how to accomplish similar tasks through InDesign is the most important thing I’m learning. Being able to quickly mask elements that extended beyond the edges of my business card designs was easily the biggest hurdle for me this project.

Color Scheme and Color Names:
Triadic (Red, Yellow, Blue)

Title Font Name (Category):
MoolBoran (Decorative)

Copy Font Name (Category):
Estrangelo Edessa (Sans-Serif)

2 thoughts on “Project 6: Stationery”

  1. everything about your stationary is gestalt man. The idea is ingenious and innovative. This is the type of look an actual company would have. It is very, VERY professional. Good job man, really well done.

    Like

Leave a comment